Deceased or Disabled Public Safety Officer Grant Program
Who Can Apply?
Applicants for awards must be dependents of a public safety officer in the state of Oregon, as defined by ORS 237.610, who was killed or disabled in the line of duty. Eligible dependents include the child or stepchild of eligible public safety officers.
Eligible public safety officers include:
- State Fire Marshal, chief deputy fire marshal and deputy state fire marshals
- Police chiefs and police officers
- Sheriffs and deputy sheriffs
- County adult parole and probation officers
- Correction officers
- Investigators of the criminal justice division of the Department of Justice
Applicants must be Oregon residents, enrolled or planning to enroll as fullâ€‘time undergraduate students and determined by the Office of Student Access & Completion to have financial need.
How Can I Apply?
Complete the Application and Certification of Eligibility for the Deceased or Disabled Public Safety Officer Grant: DDPSO-Flyer-and-Fillable-Application.pdf (PDF)
This is a fillable PDF document which you will not be able to save, so be sure to print it out before closing. After completing, printing out and signing the form, have the supervisor of the deceased or disabled public safety officer complete the certification section at the bottom.
You also must complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) need analysis form for the academic year for which you are applying as soon after January 1 as possible.
May the Recipient Attend College Outside Oregon?
No, recipients may not receive the grant to attend a college outside of Oregon. Recipients must attend 2- or 4-year, public or private non-profit colleges located in the state of Oregon.
Who Funds This Program?
The Deceased or Disabled Public Safety Officer Grant is funded through the Oregon Opportunity Grant Program (OOG), the state of Oregon's primary need-based grant program.
How Much is the Grant?
By statute (ORS. 348.270) the amount of the annual grant at public 2- and 4-year colleges may not exceed the standard cost of tuition and fees levied by the institution they are attending. The amount of the annual grant at private four-year non-profit colleges may not exceed the cost of tuition and fees at the University of Oregon.
Is This Award Renewable?
Awards are made (assuming continued financial need) on an annual basis and may be received for a maximum equivalent to four academic years (e.g., up to twelve quarters or eight semesters), or until a baccalaureate degree is earned, whichever comes first. Dependents of deceased public safety officers may also receive a maximum equivalent to four academic years (e.g., up to twelve quarters or eight semesters) of post-graduate study.
When Should I Apply?
Applicants are encouraged to apply at the same time they file their FAFSA. You may contact the Office of Student Access & Completion for more information.
For More Information:
If you have any questions about your scholarship, please call or email Award Info at OSAC.
Oregon Office of Student Access & Completion
1500 Valley River Drive, Suite 100
541-687-7443 or 800-452-8807, ext 7443