Oregon Promise Frequently Asked Questions

Printable Version

Awarding Update for Class of 2022

OSAC has started awarding the Oregon Promise Grant to new students (Class of 2022) who will begin college in Fall 2022.

There is currently no EFC limit for new applicants. Read the fact sheets and FAQs below for more details. 

APPLY FOR OREGON PROMISE NOW! You will only be considered for the grant if you complete all application requirements by your deadline. Most students must apply by JUNE 1 at 5:00 PM.

What does the awarding update mean for NEW students?

OSAC has started awarding the Oregon Promise Grant to new students (Class of 2022) who will begin college in Fall 2022. As of April 2022:
  • Who has been awarded so far? All eligible new applicants have been awarded the Oregon Promise Grant.

Based on total applicants, current recipients, and available funds, OSAC is able to award all new eligible applicants for the 2022-23 academic year. 

How can I check my status? I haven't received any emails from OSAC

  • Log in to the OSAC Student Portal to view your Oregon Promise status. In the Portal, click "MESSAGES" at the top to view all emails that OSAC has sent to you
  • Check the spam/junk folder in your email account on a regular basis to catch any missed messages. You should also add OregonPromise@hecc.oregon.gov to your email account's Safe Senders list.

I haven't applied for Oregon Promise yet. Can I still apply?

If you will graduate high school between March 1, 2022 - June 30, 2022, you have missed your deadline. 

If you will complete your GED between March 1, 2022 - June 30, 2022, you must submit your Oregon Promise application AND 2022-23 FAFSA or ORSAA by Monday, July 11.

What are the awarding criteria for continuing Oregon Promise recipients?

For students who began receiving the Oregon Promise Grant in 2021-22 or earlier, they will be notified if they are authorized or not for a 2022-23 award in mid-June. Students must meet all requirements for renewal, including submitting the FAFSA or ORSAA by JUNE 1

What are the awarding criteria for applicants in future years?

For students who graduate in March 2023 or later, OSAC has not determined if there will be an Expected Family Contribution limit. OSAC evaluates available funds on an annual basis to determine if and where to establish an EFC limit for each new group of applicants. OSAC may decide to adjust or eliminate the EFC limit in future years, depending on available funds. OSAC typically announces any EFC limit information for the upcoming year during spring. All awards are subject to action and adjustments by the Oregon Legislature. 

2022 Legislative Session

As of March 2022, there are new updates to the Oregon Promise Grant.

SB 1522 passed during the 2022 Legislative Session, which brings equity-focused changes to the Oregon Promise Grant:

  • Starting with the Class of 2022 (March 1, 2022 - June 30, 2022 graduates), the GPA requirement has been lowered to a cumulative, unweighted 2.0
    • Interested Class of 2022 students must apply for Oregon Promise by JUNE 1 at 5:00 PM
  • For all students who will receive the Oregon Promise Grant in the 2022-23 academic year and beyond, there are changes to the award calculation and renewal requirements:
    • The $50 per term co-pay has been removed from the award calculation
    • The minimum award will increase from $1,000 to $2,000 for full-time, full-year students, and it will increase at the same rate as the maximum award each year
    • The First-Year Experience will no longer be a requirement to renew the Oregon Promise Grant
Watch this quick video explaining the changes to the grant. 

Do current college students need to complete the First-Year Experience?

Yes. Students who started receiving Oregon Promise for the first time in Fall 2021 (Class of 2021 graduates) or earlier must complete the First-Year Experience (FYE) requirement by the their deadline (during first three terms of college). For more information on FYE, please contact the financial aid office at your community college.

For students who started receiving Oregon Promise for the first time Winter Term 2022 or later do not need to complete FYE.

I haven't applied for Oregon Promise yet. Can I apply?

If you will graduate high school between March 1, 2022 - June 30, 2022, you have missed your deadline of June 1. 

If you will complete your GED between March 1, 2022 - June 30, 2022, you must submit your Oregon Promise application AND 2022-23 FAFSA or ORSAA by Monday, July 11.

The application has been open since September 2021 for students to apply for Oregon Promise. Students must also submit their 2022-23 FAFSA or ORSAA by their deadline.

For current college students looking to renew the grant, the deadline to submit your 2022-23 FAFSA or ORSAA was June 1. Please review the Information for Recipients page to make sure you're eligible for a renewal award.

When will awarding begin?

Awarding for the 2022-23 academic year started on April 17 for new students. There is no EFC/income limit for Class of 2022 applicants. Students must apply by June 1 at 5:00 PM to be considered for the grant. 

Renewal student awarding will begin in mid-June.

Overview & Eligibility Details

What is Oregon Promise?

Oregon Promise is a state grant that helps cover tuition at any Oregon community college for recent high school graduates and GED® test graduates. This program was launched by legislation passed in 2015, and grant awards became available for Oregon students to attend college in Fall 2016. Oregon Promise does not cover the full cost of college attendance; see award amount details below. Oregon Promise is administered by the Higher Education Coordinating Commission Office of Student Access and Completion.

Who is eligible for Oregon Promise?

Students must meet all of the eligibility and application requirements:

APPLY

  1. Submit the Oregon Promise Grant Application by the appropriate deadline.
  2. Submit the FAFSA* or ORSAA and list at least one Oregon community college. You must complete this by your application deadline.


ELIGIBILITY

  • Be a recent Oregon high school graduate or GED® test graduate.
  • Attend an Oregon community college by your required start termbased on your graduation date.
  • Have a 2.0 cumulative high school GPA or higher, or a 145 grade on all GED® tests.
  • Be an Oregon resident for at least 12 months prior to college attendance. For dependent students, your parent(s) must also live in Oregon.
  • Have no more than 90 college credits completed or attempted.
  • Students may be subject to eligibility requirements based on their Expected Family Contribution (EFC). EFC eligibility requirements are subject to change based on available funding. 

*Some students may be selected to verify information on their FAFSA. If a student has been selected for FAFSA verification and they have questions, they should contact their college financial aid office. Students must complete verification promptly, or they risk losing their Oregon Promise award.

Once a student is awarded the grant, what are the requirements to remain eligible?

Once awarded, students maintain eligibility by:

  • Attending community college and begin receiving the grant during the first term the student is eligible for Oregon Promise.
  • Filing the FAFSA or ORSAA each year of college by JUNE 1.
  • Complying with any other requirements or requests from the community college, related to the award.
  • Maintaining at least half-time continuous enrollment (i.e. 6 or more credits) during fall, winter, and spring terms each year.
  • Accepting all state and federal grant aid offered through the community college financial aid office.
  • Completing a First-Year Experience as directed by the community college where the student attends (this must be completed during the first three terms of Oregon Promise). 
  • In renewal years, students must attend college and receive Oregon Promise each fall term, or their award will be revoked.
View the Oregon Promise Renewal Info Page for all criteria and information.

Can students participate in Oregon Promise if they have been out of high school longer than six months?

No. Participation in Oregon Promise is limited to students who begin community college - and begin receiving the Oregon Promise Grant - no more than six months after high school completion or GED® test graduation. Students must also meet the appropriate application deadline for Oregon Promise, based on their graduation or GED® test graduation date.

Certain students may be eligible for a waiver of the 6-month enrollment requirement for Oregon Promise, including students who experience significant hardship, students who are engaged in military active duty or training, certain new Oregon National Guard recruits, and students who enter into service with certain career and technical student organizations relating to farming. The student must have already applied for and been awarded an Oregon Promise Grant by OSAC to be considered for a waiver. Please contact your college Financial Aid office or OSAC for more information: (800) 452-8807.

How long can I receive Oregon Promise?

Once awarded, you can receive Oregon Promise until you have attempted a total of 90 college credits. There is no limit to the number of years or terms you can receive the grant; it is based on the 90 credit limit.

All of the following types of credits may count toward the 90 credit limit:

  • College credits you take while in high school or as part of a high school completion program
  • College credits you take during summer term*
  • College credits you take at another college or university while dual-enrolled at a community college
  • College credits for courses you withdraw from or fail
  • Advanced Placement (AP) or International Baccalaureate (IB) credits earned 
  • Any other college credits you attempt or complete prior to and during your time as an Oregon Promise recipient

*Oregon Promise does not pay for summer courses.

If a student is awarded Oregon Promise but then does not attend an Oregon community college, can they use the grant later on?

No. When a student applies for Oregon Promise and is awarded the grant, it is for a particular term when they must begin attending an Oregon community college. If the student delays enrollment, attends a 4-year college or other college instead, then they cannot use the grant at a later date.

Certain students may be considered for a waiver of the 6-month enrollment requirement for Oregon Promise, including students who experience significant hardship, students who are engaged in military active duty or training, certain new Oregon National Guard recruits, and students who enter into service with certain career and technical student organizations relating to farming. The student must have already applied for and been awarded an Oregon Promise Grant by OSAC to be considered for a waiver. Please contact your college Financial Aid office or OSAC for more information: (800) 452-8807.

Application Details

How and when do students apply?

You must complete both steps below by your application deadline (deadline varies by graduation date). For most students, you MUST apply during your senior year of high school (before you graduate) - or immediately after you complete the GED® test credential.
  1. The application is currently open for GED® test graduates who will graduate between March 1, 2022 and June 30, 2022
  2. If you graduated prior to March 1, 2022 (or you are a high school graduate of June 30, 2022 or prior), you have unfortunately missed your deadline to apply for the Oregon Promise Grant
  3. If you will be a high school or GED® test graduate between July 1, 2022 and June 30, 2023, the application is estimated to open mid-September 2022

How to Apply:

  1. Complete the Oregon Promise application in the OSAC Student Portal
  2. Submit the FAFSA or ORSAA for the year that you will start college. List at least one Oregon community college on the FAFSA or ORSAA.

How does GPA verification work?

For most students, their transcript that includes their seventh-semester grades will be used to demonstrate a cumulative, unweighted high school GPA of at least 2.0. There are two ways to complete the GPA/Transcripts Section (#5) of the application:

1) Recommended: If the student indicates this in their application, high school staff can verify the student’s GPA via the secure OSAC Partner Portal. Students are ultimately responsible for making sure that their high school verifies their GPA on time, or else they may provide a transcript in their application. Applicants should talk to their high school registrar to ensure that their GPA is verified on time.

2) The student can upload their transcript as a PDF in the Oregon Promise application or mail the transcript directly to OSAC.

High School Staff: 

If you would like to complete GPA Verification in the High School Portal, please complete the email OSAC form and click "Partner Portal Request - High School".

Learn more about GPA Verification by reading the OPG High School Resource Guide or reviewing the GPA Verification Instructions.

I don't have my final transcript yet, can I still apply?

YES. High school students do not have to wait until they have their final transcript to apply for Oregon Promise. Students can start applying as soon as the application cycle opens for their graduation date range (typically September).

High school registrars also do not have to wait until final grades are completed to begin verifying GPAs. Typically, we only ask for final grades if a student does not have a 2.0 when they apply and we give them a chance to update their application with their final transcript/revised GPA verification, if applicable.

GED® students do have to have all four tests completed to access their GED® test transcript to complete their Oregon Promise application.

Most high school students have to apply for Oregon Promise by June 1 at 5:00 PM during their senior year.

Can a student apply during their senior year, even if they don't yet have a 2.0 GPA?

YES. The student must submit their Oregon Promise application by the appropriate deadline and ensure that their high school verifies their GPA by the appropriate deadline. If the GPA does not meet the 2.0 minimum at the time of application, then the student may provide an updated transcript (or the high school may re-verify the GPA) once final grades are available. If you are not sure of the deadline to provide this, please contact OSAC: OregonPromise@hecc.oregon.gov 

What if I would have been able to raise my GPA to the 2.0 limit if I were assigned letter grades in Spring of 2020?

OSAC will allow your high school to verify your GPA as MET if it would have been mathematically possible for you to achieve a cumulative, unweighted GPA of 2.0 if your grades during Spring 2020 (March 2020 - June 2020) were letter grades (and if they were changed only due to the emergency declaration).

If your high school does not participate in GPA verification, request a cover letter with your final transcript from your high school registrar to submit to OSAC. In section 5 of your application, you can choose a method on how to deliver your transcript to OSAC.

You must submit your Oregon Promise application by your appropriate deadline.

What if my GPA was impacted during Spring 2020?

In the event a student is unable to achieve a cumulative, unweighted 2.0 GPA as a result of school district actions relative to local or state emergency orders made during March - June 2020, when it would have been mathematically possible to do so with a final term of grades, they may be considered for the Oregon Promise Grant. The updated calculation for the Oregon Promise GPA requirement is for current high school students who had their potential GPA impacted due to the change to P/N grades in Spring 2020.

High school graduates can be considered as meeting the GPA limit if it was mathematically possible to achieve a 2.0 cumulative, unweighted GPA had the school district assigned letter grades during the final term of high school. 

  • If you select GPA verification in your Oregon Promise application, you can be considered as meeting the GPA limit if it was mathematically possible for you achieve a 2.0 had your school district assigned letter grades during that term of high school. You must submit your Oregon Promise application by the appropriate deadline. It is your responsibility to ensure your high school registrar submits your GPA verification by that deadline.
  • If you select electronic upload/mail/hand deliver transcript in your Oregon Promise application, you can be considered as meeting the GPA limit if it was mathematically possible for you achieve a 2.0 had your school district assigned letter grades during your final term of high school. You must submit your final transcript (unofficial is okay) and a cover letter from the high school to submit to OSAC. The cover letter must be from the high school explaining that you could have achieved a 2.0 GPA if letter grades were assigned. You must submit your Oregon Promise application and documents by the appropriate deadline.

Does Oregon Promise consider "weighted" GPA?

No. Oregon Promise uses unweighted, cumulative high school GPA to determine qualification for the grant.

What if a student does not list an Oregon community college on the FAFSA or ORSAA?

This is a required part of the application process and must be included for consideration for Oregon Promise. OSAC relies on the college school codes listed on the FAFSA and the ORSAA to identify which students plan to attend community college.

In order to receive an Oregon Promise award, the student must list the community college where they end up attending. This can be updated on the FAFSA or ORSAA. If a student does not list an Oregon community college, they will be ineligible for Oregon Promise.

How and when do applicants know if they are awarded the Oregon Promise Grant?

The Office of Student Access and Completion (OSAC) notifies students of their award via email, and the information is also available in the OSAC Student Portal. Make sure that your email is updated in the Student Portal, so that you receive all notifications.

For spring graduates, awarding typically begins in March or April each year for students who have completed all application requirements.

OSAC also notifies community college financial aid offices of students' award on a regular basis. Colleges include this award information in students' financial aid offer letters.

What if a student misses their deadline to apply?

Students can only apply once for Oregon Promise based on their high school or GED® test graduation date. Most students must apply during their senior year of high school. If a student misses their deadline to apply, they are no longer eligible for Oregon Promise moving forward.

Students can still apply for OSAC Scholarships each year, and apply for the Oregon Opportunity Grant by submitting the FAFSA or ORSAA each year as soon as possible after October 1.

OSAC has an appeal process for students who miss the Oregon Promise deadline. The appeal must be submitted by the student to Oregon Promise staff within two weeks after the missed application deadline to be considered for review. Please contact OSAC for more information: OregonPromise@hecc.oregon.gov 

Award Details

How much Oregon Promise money will I receive?

Awards range from $2,000 to $4,128 per year (in 2022-23) for full-time students. Your Oregon Promise award amount depends on your remaining financial need after you receive other state and federal grants. 

These factors determine your Oregon Promise award amount:

  1. Federal Pell Grant and Oregon Opportunity Grant Award Amounts - Oregon Promise is a last-dollar grant that covers your remaining tuition amount (up to the average cost of 12 credits per term) after any Federal Pell Grant and Oregon Opportunity Grant funds have been applied.
  2. Number of Credits Taken - You must enroll in at least 6 credits per term to receive Oregon Promise. Oregon Promise covers up to 12 credits per term. Students are financially responsible for paying for any additional credits above 12. Oregon Promise award amounts are based on standard enrollment ranges.
  3. Tuition at Your Community College - Oregon Promise will cover up to the average tuition charged by an Oregon community college ($4,128 in 2022-23). Some community colleges have a higher or lower tuition cost than this average. If the tuition cost is above the average, the student is responsible for the difference. If the tuition cost is below this average, Oregon Promise pays up to that college’s actual tuition cost.

90 Credit Limit – Once you have attempted a total of 90 college credits, you are no longer eligible to receive Oregon Promise. Learn more about what the 90 credit limit includes.

Does Oregon Promise cover all community college costs?

No. Oregon Promise helps pay for community college tuition after other state and federal grant aid has been applied. However, there are other college costs of attendance that Oregon Promise does not cover, such as books, fees, and housing. A $50 co-pay is automatically deducted from the Oregon Promise award each term (the co-pay is already deducted from the award amount you see in the OSAC Student Portal).

What is the maximum number of credits that Oregon Promise pays for per term?

Oregon Promise covers up to 12 credits per term (fall, winter, spring) up to a maximum total of 90 credits attempted. Students are responsible for paying for any additional credits above 12.

Do award amounts differ according to the number of credits taken?

Yes. You must enroll in at least 6 credits per term to receive Oregon Promise. Oregon Promise covers up to the average cost of 12 credits per term. Students are financially responsible for paying for any additional credits above 12.

Oregon Promise awards are based on standard enrollment ranges:

Credits Attempted Per TermEnrollment StatusOregon Promise Award Amount
12 or more credits Full time 100% of award
9-11 credits Three quarter time 75% of award
6-8 credits Half time 50% of award

Students receive the same award amount within a given credit range. For example, a student receives the same award amount whether they take 9 credits or 11 credits.

What is my Expected Family Contribution (EFC)?

Your EFC is a number that is calculated according to financial and other information that your family submits on the FAFSA or ORSAA. You are required to complete either the FAFSA or the ORSAA when you apply for Oregon Promise. Once you complete the FAFSA or ORSAA, you can find your EFC in your account:

  • In your FAFSA account, find your EFC on the confirmation page. If you need help, contact Federal Student Aid online or call 1-800-433-3243.
  • In your ORSAA account, select the blue down-arrow icon to download the PDF of your ORSAA. Your EFC is listed on the last page of the PDF. If you need help, contact ORSAAHelp@hecc.oregon.gov or 1-800-452-8807.

Your EFC is not the amount of money your family will have to pay for college nor is it the amount of financial aid you will receive. Learn more about the Expected Family Contribution calculation.

How does OSAC determine Expected Family Contribution (EFC) criteria for Oregon Promise?

OSAC evaluates several factors on an annual basis: available funds, cost of awarding new applicants, cost of awarding current recipients in future years, and changes in tuition costs. OSAC uses these factors to determine if and where to establish an EFC limit for each new group of applicants. OSAC may be required to reinstate, remove, or adjust the EFC limit each year. OSAC typically announces EFC limit information in early spring each year.

Information for Current Recipients

For current Oregon Promise recipients, what is the award renewal process each year?

Current Oregon Promise recipients must file a valid FAFSA or ORSAA each year of college by JUNE 1. You must list your Oregon community college to renew the award. No additional application is required. 

Some students may be selected to verify information on their FAFSA. If a student has been selected for verification and they have questions, they should contact their college’s financial aid office. Students must complete verification before they can receive their Oregon Promise award.

How do current recipients remain eligible for Oregon Promise?

  • Submit the FAFSA or ORSAA by June 1 each year, and list your Oregon community college.
  • Comply with any other requirements or requests from the community college, related to the award.
  • Complete a First-Year Experience as directed by the community college, within your first 3 terms of college. The First-Year Experience varies depending on the college. More information is available at the college financial aid office.
    • If you started receiving Oregon Promise Winter 2022 or later, you will not need to complete the First-Year Experience.
  • Maintain Satisfactory Academic Progress, as determined by the community college.
  • Maintain at least half-time continuous enrollment (i.e. 6 or more credits) during fall, winter, and spring terms each year.
  • Accept all state and federal grant aid offered through the community college financial aidoffice.
  • Have attempted or completed no more than 90 credits.
  • Be an Oregon resident.
  • Attend community college each fall term during renewal years.

Learn more by watching this video: Oregon Promise: Stay on Track.

When do I need to complete First-Year Experience?

Oregon Promise recipients must complete First-Year Experience (FYE) during their first three terms of receiving the grant, or the grant will not be renewed for the following year. For example, students who start Oregon Promise in fall term must complete FYE by the end of spring term. First-Year Experience varies depending on the college. If you have questions, contact your college financial aid office.

Students who first started receiving Oregon Promise Winter Term 2022 or later do not need to complete the First-Year Experience.

What if I transfer to a different community college?

You can transfer and still use your Oregon Promise award at another community college in Oregon. When you are preparing to transfer, update your current FAFSA or ORSAA as soon as possible, and list the new community college. It is also a good idea to contact your new community college's financial aid office to ensure that they have your Oregon Promise award information.

Can part-time college students participate in Oregon Promise?

Yes. To receive the grant, you must attend a community college at least half-time (6 credits or more per term). See prorated award amount details for part-time enrollment.

What if I was not able to attend college Spring Term 2020?

The Higher Education Coordinating Commission (HECC) strongly encourages students to continue their enrollment in available courses at Oregon institutions to the greatest extent possible, as they navigate this challenging time. OSAC recognizes that during the COVID-19 crisis, you may face a variety of pressures and challenges. Please know we are here to help students with financial aid to support their continued success in postsecondary goals. OSAC provided some flexibility to Oregon Promise students who do not enroll in a minimum of 6 credits during spring term 2020.

  • If you were participating in Oregon Promise in 2020-21 and do not enroll in at least 6 credits, OSAC will issue a waiver for your spring term 2020 requirement.
  • If you are scheduled to begin receiving the Oregon Promise Grant in Spring 2020 and do not enroll in at least 6 credits, OSAC will issue a waiver for your spring term requirement.
  • If you are part of one of the groups above, you will be granted additional time to complete the First-Year Experience (FYE) requirement for Oregon Promise. OSAC will still consider you for renewal of the grant in Fall 2020, provided you meet all other grant renewal requirements.

You are not required to contact OSAC or your college financial aid office to request consideration for the items listed above; these will be applied automatically after spring term 2020.


Students who received this flexibility for Spring Term 2020 must return to an Oregon community college Fall Term 2020 at least halftime and receive the Oregon Promise Grant, or their grant will be cancelled for all future terms. 

What if I take less than 6 credits or skip a term?

If you take less than 6 credits or skip your first Oregon Promise term (typically fall term), then your Oregon Promise is canceled and you cannot reapply.

If you attend fall term and receive the grant, then you can take less than 6 credits or skip winter term and still receive funds in spring term (if you take 6 credits). However, you would not be eligible for a renewal grant in future academic years, since you skipped a required term (winter).

You must take 6 or more credits each term (fall, winter, spring) in order to maintain your renewal eligibility. OSAC can only make exceptions due to emergency circumstances, military training, active duty, etc. Contact your college financial aid office prior to or immediately after stopping classes for more details.

Are students who are dual enrolled in a community college and a four-year university eligible for the Oregon Promise?

Yes, you can be dual enrolled or in a Degree Partnership Program (DPP) and receive Oregon Promise. Please work closely with both colleges to ensure that you meet the following requirements:

  • Establish a dual enrollment agreement between the two schools
  • Have the community college listed as your home college for financial aid purposes
  • Attempt at least 6 credits at the community college each term

Oregon Promise will only pay for the credits you take at an Oregon community college. However, credits completed at both colleges will count toward the 90 credit limit allowed by Oregon Promise.

If you are dual enrolled between multiple community colleges in Oregon, make sure that a dual enrollment agreement is in place. You may be able to receive Oregon Promise funds to cover credits taken at both community colleges. Contact OSAC or your financial aid office for assistance.

Does Oregon Promise pay for summer classes?

No, Oregon Promise funds are not available during summer quarter. The Oregon Promise Grant is available to students during fall, winter, and spring quarters. Students may take summer classes if they choose. Even though Oregon Promise does not pay for summer courses, any credits that a student takes in the summer will count toward the 90 credit limit.

Which courses or programs are eligible for Oregon Promise?

To receive Oregon Promise funds, you must be enrolled in courses at an Oregon community college that are part of one of the following:

a) An associate degree; or
b) A program in career and technical education (CTE); or
c) A one-year curriculum for students who plan to transfer to another post-secondary institution of education.

These courses must have tuition charges (rather than fee-only), since Oregon Promise helps to pay for tuition costs. If you are authorized for Oregon Promise but do not enroll in eligible courses or an eligible program, then your grant may be cancelled.

Talk to your college financial aid office to confirm whether or not your courses are compatible with Oregon Promise.

Information for Specific Applicant Types

Can undocumented and DACA students participate in Oregon Promise?

Yes. Students must meet all eligibility requirements for the grant, including living in Oregon for at least 12 months prior to attending college. Undocumented and DACA students must complete the Oregon Student Aid Application (ORSAA) (instead of the FAFSA) and complete the Oregon Promise application. Learn more about Financial Aid for Undocumented & DACA Students.

Can home-school students participate in Oregon Promise?

Yes, provided they meet all eligibility requirements. In the Oregon Promise Application, you must submit all 3 documents as a home-school student:

  1. A copy of the Confirmation of Enrollment letter on file at your local Educational Service District (ESD) (also called "Letter of Intent to home-school"). A DMV receipt or record will not suffice.
  2. A copy of the results of a tenth-grade standardized achievement test, required for all home-school students who have registered with their ESD.
  3. A standard high school transcript from your home-school teacher describing your coursework and letter grades assigned.

How do GED® test scores translate into a 2.0 GPA?

A GED® test score of 145 is equivalent to a 2.0 GPA for Oregon Promise. Students who pass each of the four GED® tests with a score of 145 or better meet the Oregon Promise requirement of a 2.0 cumulative GPA.

The GED® test graduation date is the date of their final/fourth GED® test, as listed on the official GED® test transcript.

If a student is released from a correctional facility, can they be eligible for Oregon Promise?

Yes, as long as they meet all eligibility criteria. These applicants may be eligible to begin attending a community college and use Oregon Promise within 6 months of their release date (rather than their graduation date).

Passed in 2019, House Bill 2910 expanded eligibility requirements for the Oregon Promise Grant to support eligible individuals who obtain their high school diploma or GED®  test credential while incarcerated or in custody in an Oregon correctional facility. HB 2910 is effective as of January 1, 2020. This change only impacts students who obtain their high school diploma or GED®  test credential on or after January 1, 2020 while in an Oregon correctional facility.


Learn more about eligibility criteria, deadlines, and FAQs for HB 2910-eligible applicants:

If a student graduated from high school years ago, can they earn their GED® now and be eligible for Oregon Promise?

No. Graduation eligibility dates pertain to a student’s first high school graduation or GED® test graduation date.

If a student has taken college classes while in high school, can they be eligible for Oregon Promise?

Students will be eligible for Oregon Promise as long as they have not already earned 90 college credits. College credits earned while a student is still enrolled in high school will be included in the student’s cumulative GPA at the community college. College credits from high school will also count toward the 90 credit limit allowed by Oregon Promise.

If a student participates in an Expanded Options Program (fifth-year senior program), can they be considered for Oregon Promise?

Yes, provided that: 1) the student has not already earned or attempted 90 college credits; and 2) the student obtains a high school diploma or GED® credential and begins the Oregon Promise program within 6 months of graduation or GED® test graduation. College credits earned while a student is still enrolled in high school are included in the student’s cumulative GPA at the community college, and in the 90 credit limit for Oregon Promise.

If you are not sure of your official high school graduation date, please confirm with your high school registrar.

If a student receives a Modified Diploma, can they be eligible for Oregon Promise?

Yes. Students who receive an Oregon Modified Diploma are eligible for the Oregon Promise if they meet all other eligibility requirements.

If a student receives an Extended Diploma, can they be eligible for Oregon Promise?

No. Based on the published Executive Memorandum in 2014, students who receive an Extended High School Diploma are not eligible for Title IV Financial Aid, which includes the Oregon Promise Grant.

Can Adult High School Completers participate in Oregon Promise?

Yes. Students who receive an Adult High School Diploma are eligible for the Oregon Promise if they meet all other eligibility requirements.

Can current and former foster youth participate in Oregon Promise?

Yes. Current and former foster youth who meet all eligibility requirements can participate in the Oregon Promise program.

Passed in 2020, Senate Bill 1605 expanded eligibility requirements for the Oregon Promise Grant to support eligible foster youth who obtain their high school diploma or GED® test credential while in out-of-state placements.

Foster youth who obtain their credential in an out-of-state foster care will have the residency requirement waived, due to their placement. These students also will have 12 months, instead of 6 to enroll at least half-time at an Oregon community college. Students must apply for the Oregon Promise Grant by the appropriate deadline. Please email OregonPromise@hecc.oregon.gov for deadline and application information, related to SB 1605.

SB 1605 is effective as of July 1, 2020. This change only impacts students who obtain their high school diploma or GED® test credential on or after July 1, 2020 while placed in out-of-state foster care.

Can foster youth access Oregon Promise and the Foster Youth Tuition and Fee Waiver simultaneously?

Yes. If a student is eligible for the Tuition and Fee Waiver, the waiver comes into effect if tuition and fee costs still remain after all grants and scholarships have been applied, including Oregon Promise.

For students whose tuition and fees are fully covered by the Federal Pell Grant and the Oregon Opportunity Grant, the Tuition and Fee Waiver would not apply. They would be eligible to receive $1,000 under Oregon Promise for other educational expenses (if attending full-time, full year).

For students who do not receive sufficient Federal Pell Grant or Oregon Opportunity Grant funds to cover their tuition, the Oregon Promise grant would cover most or all of their remaining tuition costs. In that case, the Tuition and Fee Waiver could be applied to their student fees or any tuition costs that exceed the amount covered by Oregon Promise.